Enter a term to search the site
Search tips | Log in
Resources Job List publications bookstore style convention governance membership

MLA Officers and Members of the Executive Council

MLA Executive Council
Standing (left to right): Appiah, Higonnet, Unruh, Feal, Koepnick, Apter, Krebs, Palumbo-Liu, Desai, Sharpley-Whiting, Ali. Seated (left to right): Sullivan, Croxall, Hall, Taylor, Kitchiner, Greene. Not pictured: Schwartz Crane. Photo by Daniel Root.

Function: The officers and other members of the Executive Council are elected by the MLA membership and have fiduciary and administrative responsibility for the association.

Staff liaison: Carol Zuses (

President: Roland Greene
First Vice President: Kwame Anthony Appiah
Second Vice President: Diana Taylor
Executive Director: Rosemary G. Feal

Samer M. Ali, 2012–Jan. 2016
Emily Apter, 2015–Jan. 2019
Brian Croxall, 2014–Jan. 2018
Gaurav G. Desai, 2014–Jan. 2018
Donald E. Hall, 2013–Jan. 2017
Margaret R. Higonnet, 2014–Jan. 2018
Lanisa Kitchiner, 2012–Jan. 2016
Lutz Koepnick, 2012–Jan. 2016
Paula M. Krebs, 2013–Jan. 2017
David Palumbo-Liu, 2015–Jan. 2019
Elizabeth Schwartz Crane, 2015–Jan. 2017
Tracy Denean Sharpley-Whiting, 2014–Jan. 2018
Mecca Jamilah Sullivan, 2012–Jan. 2016
Vicky Unruh, 2015–Jan. 2019


Related Links


© 2015 Modern Language Association. Last updated 08/26/2015.