Enter a term to search the site
Search tips | Log in
Resources Job List publications bookstore style convention governance membership

Aldo and Jeanne Scaglione Prize for a Translation of a Literary Work

2013 Nathaniel E. Dubin, Saint John’s University (emeritus), for his translation of The Fabliaux (Liveright, 2013)
Honorable mention: Jason Grunebaum, University of Chicago, for his translation of The Girl with the Golden Parasol, by Uday Prakash (Yale Univ. Press, 2013)
Honorable mention: John Nathan, University of California, Santa Barbara, for his translation of Light and Dark, by Natsume Sōseki (Columbia Univ. Press, 2013)
2011 Robert M. Durling, University of California, Santa Cruz, for The Divine Comedy of Dante Alighieri, volume 3: Paradiso (Oxford Univ. Press, 2011)
Honorable mention: Shushan Avagyan, American University of Armenia, for Bowstring: On the Dissimilarity of the Similar, by Viktor Shklovsky (Dalkey Archive, 2011)
Honorable mention: C. Dickson, Vaulnaveys, France, for At the Café and The Talisman, by Mohammed Dib (Univ. of Virginia Press, 2011)
Honorable mention: Imre Goldstein, Tel Aviv, Israel, for Parallel Stories, by Péter Nádas (Farrar, Straus, and Giroux, 2011)
Honorable mention: Iain Macleod Higgins, University of Victoria, for The Book of John Mandeville with Related Texts (Hackett, 2011)
2009 Breon Mitchell, Indiana University, for The Tin Drum by Günter Grass (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2009)
Honorable mention: Lawrence Venuti, Temple University, for Edward Hopper by Ernest Farrés (Graywolf Press, 2009)
2007 Timothy Billings, Middlebury College, and Christopher Bush, Northwestern University, for Stèles, by Victor Segalen (Wesleyan Univ. Press, 2007)
2005 Wilson Baldridge, Wichita State University, for Recumbents: Poems (Gisants: Poèmes), by Michel Deguy (Wesleyan Univ. Press, 2005)
2003 Mary Hudson, Brooklyn, New York, for Fable for Another Time (Féerie pour une autre fois 1), by Louis-Ferdinand Céline (Univ. of Nebraska Press, 2003)
  Honorable mention: Eliot Weinberger, New York, New York, for Altazor; or, A Voyage in a Parachute: Poems in VII Cantos (1919), by Vicente Huidobro (Wesleyan Univ. Press, 2003)
2001 E. H. Blackmore, Scarborough, Western Australia, and A. M. Blackmore, Curtin University, for Selected Poems of Victor Hugo: A Bilingual Edition (Univ. of Chicago Press, 2001)
1999 Norman R. Shapiro, Wesleyan University, for One Hundred and One Poems by Paul Verlaine (Univ. of Chicago Press, 1999)
1996–97 Peter Cole, Jerusalem, Israel, for Selected Poems of Shmuel HaNagid (Princeton Univ. Press, 1997)
1994–95 David Ball, Smith College, for Darkness Moves: An Henri Michaux Anthology, 1927–1984 (Univ. of California Press, 1994)
  Carol Maier, Kent State University, for Memoirs of Leticia Valle, by Rosa Chacel (Univ. of Nebraska Press, 1994)
  Honorable mention: Harold B. Segel, for The Vienna Coffeehouse Wits, 1890–1938 (Purdue Univ. Press, 1995)
1992–93 Estelle Gilson, for The Stories and Recollections of Umberto Saba (Sheep Meadow Press, 1993)


Related Link


© 2015 Modern Language Association. Last updated 12/03/2014.