Enter a term to search the site
Search tips | Log in
Resources Job List publications bookstore style convention governance membership

Aldo and Jeanne Scaglione Prize for Comparative Literary Studies

Competition in 2015 for Books Published in 2014

Open Only to Members of the Association

The Committee on Honors and Awards of the Modern Language Association invites authors to compete for the twenty-third annual Aldo and Jeanne Scaglione Prize for Comparative Literary Studies, to be awarded for an outstanding scholarly work in the field of comparative literary studies involving at least two literatures. For the competition in 2015, the committee solicits entries of books written by current members of the association and published in 2014. Works of literary history, literary criticism, philology, and literary theory are eligible, as are works dealing with literature and other arts and disciplines, including cinema; books that are primarily translations will not be considered. The Scaglione Prize for Comparative Literary Studies, which consists of a cash award and a certificate, was established by the Aldo and Jeanne Scaglione Endowment Fund. It will be presented to the winning author at the association's annual convention in January 2016.

To enter a book into the competition, authors or publishers should send four copies and a letter identifying the work and confirming the author's membership in the MLA to the Scaglione Prize for Comparative Literary Studies, Modern Language Association, 26 Broadway, 3rd floor, New York, NY 10004-1789. In the case of a born-digital publication, send the relevant media or URL and a letter identifying the work to Publishers may enter more than one title, but no work may be entered in more than one MLA competition. Entries may be sent at any time but must be received by 1 May 2015. The winning author will be contacted in September, and a public announcement will be made in early December. Because of the volume of submissions, we regret that we are unable to contact each entrant individually.

For further information, call or write the MLA office of programs (646 576-5141;

Past winners of this prize


© 2015 Modern Language Association. Last updated 08/04/2014.