Enter a term to search the site
Search tips | Log in
Resources Job List publications bookstore style convention governance membership

Morton N. Cohen Award for a Distinguished Edition of Letters

2011–12 Roger Kuin, York University, for The Correspondence of Sir Philip Sidney, 2 volumes (Oxford Univ. Press, 2012)
2009–10 Martha Dow Fehsenfeld, Emory University; Lois More Overbeck, Emory University; George Craig, University of Sussex; and Dan Gunn, American University of Paris; for The Letters of Samuel Beckett, Volume 1: 1929–1940 (Cambridge Univ. Press, 2009)
  Honorable mention: Leo Jansen, Amsterdam; Hans Luijten, Amsterdam; and Nienke Bakker, Amsterdam; for Vincent van Gogh–The Letters: The Complete Illustrated and Annotated Edition (Van Gogh Museum, Huygens Inst., Mercatorfonds, 2009)
2007–08 William G. Holzberger, Bucknell University, for The Letters of George Santayana, Book Seven, 1941–1947 and Book Eight, 1948–1952 (MIT Press, 2007, 2008)
2005–06 John Kelly, Oxford University, and Ronald Schuchard, Emory University, for The Collected Letters of W. B. Yeats, volume 4 (Oxford Univ. Press, 2005)
2003–04 Robert J. Bertholf, State University of New York, Buffalo, and Albert Gelpi, Stanford University, for The Letters of Robert Duncan and Denise Levertov (Stanford Univ. Press, 2004)
2001–02 Michael B. Frank, University of California, Berkeley, and Harriet Elinor Smith, University of California, Berkeley, for Mark Twain’s Letters: Volume 6, 1874-1875 (Univ. of California Press, 2002)
1999–2000 Albert J. Devlin, University of Missouri, Columbia, and Nancy Marie Patterson Tischler, Emerita, Penn State University, University Park, for The Selected Letters of Tennessee Williams: Volume 1, 1920-1945 (New Directions, 2000)
1997–98 Ignas Kestutis Skrupskelis, University of South Carolina, and Elizabeth M. Berkeley, for The Correspondence of William James, volume 6 (Univ. Press of Virginia, 1998)
1995–96 Clyde de L. Ryals, Duke University, and Kenneth J. Fielding, University of Edinburgh, for The Collected Letters of Thomas and Jane Welsh Carlyle, volumes 22-24 (Duke Univ. Press, 1995)
1993–94 Paul Mattheisen, State University of New York, Binghamton, Arthur Young, Russell Sage College, and Pierre Coustillas, University of Lille, for The Collected Letters of George Gissing (Ohio Univ. Press, 1990-)
  Honorable mention: Walter Sutton, Syracuse University, for Pound, Thayer, Watson, and The Dial: A Story in Letters (Univ. Press of Florida, 1994)
1991–92 Georges Lubin, for Correspondance de George Sand (Classiques Garnier, 1964-91)
1989–90 Frederick Burkhardt, Sydney Smith, and associates, for The Correspondence of Charles Darwin (Cambridge Univ. Press, 1985-)


Related Link


© 2015 Modern Language Association. Last updated 08/05/2014.