Enter a term to search the site
Search tips | Log in
Resources Job List publications bookstore style convention governance membership

Howard R. Marraro Prize

Competition in 2016 for Works Published in 2015

Open Only to Members of the Association

The Committee on Honors and Awards of the Modern Language Association invites authors to enter the competition for the twenty-fourth Howard R. Marraro Prize. The prize is awarded each even-numbered year to the author of an outstanding scholarly book or essay on any phase of Italian literature or comparative literature involving Italian. For the next competition, the committee solicits submissions of works published in 2015 by current members of the association. The prize, which consists of a cash award from the Howard R. Marraro Endowment Fund and a certificate, will be presented to the winning author at the association's annual convention in January 2017.

To enter a work into competition, authors or publishers should send four copies and a letter identifying the work and confirming the author's membership in the MLA to the Howard R. Marraro Prize, Modern Language Association, 85 Broad Street, suite 500, New York, NY 10004-2434. In the case of a born-digital publication, send the relevant media or URL and a letter identifying the work to Publishers may submit more than one title. Books entered in this competition may also compete for the James Russell Lowell Prize or the MLA Prize for a First Book, provided they meet eligibility requirements. Entries may be submitted at any time but must be received by 1 May 2016. The winning author will be contacted in September, and a public announcement will be made in early December. Because of the volume of submissions, we regret that we are unable to contact each entrant individually.

For further information, call or write the MLA office of programs (646 576-5141;

Note: From 1996 to 2000, the Howard R. Marraro Prize was awarded jointly with the Aldo and Jeanne Scaglione Prize for Italian Literary Studies, which is now awarded separately in odd-numbered years.

Past winners of this prize


© 2015 Modern Language Association. Last updated 08/31/2015.