Enter a term to search the site
Search tips | Log in
Resources Job List publications bookstore style convention governance membership

MLA Officers and Members of the Executive Council

MLA Executive Council
Standing (left to right): Greene, Koepnick, Sullivan, Feal, Ali, Herrera-Sobek, Kitchiner, Croxall, Higonnet, Altmann, Appiah. Seated (left to right): Hall, Krebs, Desai, Ferguson, Sharpley-Whiting. Not pictured: Castillo.

Function: The officers and other members of the Executive Council are elected by the MLA membership and have fiduciary and administrative responsibility for the association.

Staff liaison: Carol Zuses (

President: Margaret W. Ferguson
First Vice President: Roland Greene
Second Vice President: Kwame Anthony Appiah
Executive Director: Rosemary G. Feal

Samer M. Ali, 2012–Jan. 2016
Barbara K. Altmann, 2011–Jan. 2015
Debra Ann Castillo, 2011–Jan. 2015
Brian Croxall, 2014–Jan. 2018
Gaurav G. Desai, 2014–Jan. 2018
Donald E. Hall, 2013–Jan. 2017
María Herrera-Sobek, 2011–Jan. 2015
Margaret R. Higonnet, 2014–Jan. 2018
Lanisa Kitchiner, 2012–Jan. 2016
Lutz Koepnick, 2012–Jan. 2016
Paula M. Krebs, 2013–Jan. 2017
Tracy Denean Sharpley-Whiting, 2014–Jan. 2018
Mecca Jamilah Sullivan, 2012–Jan. 2016


Related Links


© 2014 Modern Language Association. Last updated 10/21/2014.