MLA Officers and Members of the Executive Council

Members of the 2016 Executive Council

Standing (left to right): Ramirez Mendoza, Higonnet, Croxall, Pan, Taylor, Feal, Unruh, Gere, Hanson, Schwartz Crane, Appiah, Sharpley-Whiting. Seated (left to right): Krebs, Bammer, Palumbo-Liu, Hall, Apter. Not pictured: Desai.

Function: The officers and other members of the Executive Council are elected by the MLA membership and have fiduciary and administrative responsibility for the association.

Staff liaison: Carol Zuses (

President: Kwame Anthony Appiah
First Vice President: Diana Taylor
Second Vice President: Anne Ruggles Gere
Executive Director: Rosemary G. Feal

Emily Apter, 2015–Jan. 2019
Angelika Bammer, 2016–Jan. 2020
Brian Croxall, 2014–Jan. 2018
Gaurav G. Desai, 2014–Jan. 2018
Donald E. Hall, 2013–Jan. 2017
Lenora Hanson, 2016–Jan. 2020
Margaret R. Higonnet, 2014–Jan. 2018
Paula M. Krebs, 2013–Jan. 2017
David Palumbo-Liu, 2015–Jan. 2019
David Tse-chien Pan, 2016–Jan. 2020
Rafael A. Ramirez Mendoza, 2016–Jan. 2020
Elizabeth Schwartz Crane, 2015–Jan. 2017
Tracy Denean Sharpley-Whiting, 2014–Jan. 2018
Vicky Unruh, 2015–Jan. 2019