MLA Bibliography Fellowships

In 2003, the Executive Council approved a request by the Advisory Committee on the MLA International Bibliography for the creation of MLA Bibliography fellowships. These fellowships recognize the efforts of scholars who index materials on behalf of the MLA International Bibliography.

2017 Fellowships

Fellowships are for a three-year period, beginning 1 July 2017 and ending 30 June 2020. The MLA seeks scholars of any level of seniority interested in training as field bibliography fellows and able to deliver at least one hundred citations each year. This opportunity is open to potential as well as existing field bibliographers. The MLA will provide materials and training meetings at the annual convention. Fellows attending training sessions will have their conference registration fees waived. On completion of the fellowship, they will receive a stipend of $500 and a certificate during the awards ceremony at the MLA convention. It is hoped that recipients of these fellowships will continue submitting citations throughout their careers.

Applications for the 2017 field bibliography fellowships are due by 1 April 2017.

The basic criteria for application are

  1. MLA membership

  2. Master's degree or PhD in a relevant field

  3. Access to scholarly material for indexing

Please submit a letter of request, including qualifications and reasons for applying for the fellowship, and a current résumé or CV. Materials may be sent to Helen Slavin, MLA International Bibliography, 85 Broad Street, suite 500, New York, NY 10004-2434 (

We are pleased to announce the recipients of the 2016 fellowships who will serve from 2016 to 2019. Congratulations to the following: 

  • Arianne Hartsell-Gundy, head librarian, humanities section, literature and theater studies, Duke University

  • Brenda Koller, writing and learning strategies adviser, University of Northern British Columbia

  • Carmela Mattza, assistant professor, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge

  • Sheila A. Monnet, independent scholar

  • Binod Paudyal, graduate student, teaching fellow, University of Utah

  • John C. Rendeiro, graduate student, University at Buffalo, State University of New York

  • Sarah J. Sprouse, graduate student, Texas Tech University

  • Amanda Watson, librarian for English and comparative literature, New York University

  • Margaret Wright-Cleveland, instructor, Fulbright scholar, Florida State University

We are also pleased to announce the ninth MLA Bibliography fellowship award recipients, who have served for the three years 2012–15. The following scholars received a certificate of accomplishment and a check for $500 at the 2016 MLA Annual Convention during the MLA Awards Ceremony:

  • Thomas W. Juntune, professor emeritus of German, Michigan State University

  • Michelle J. Oh, reference librarian, Lake Forest College

  • Rosa E. Penna, professor, Pontificia Universidad Católica Argentina

  • Duane Rhoades, professor, University of Wyoming

  • Brian W. Vetruba, Germanic languages and literatures, comparative literature, and European studies librarian, Washington University in St. Louis