Fenia and Yaakov Leviant Memorial Prize in Yiddish Studies

Open to Members and Nonmembers of the Association

The Committee on Honors and Awards of the Modern Language Association is pleased to invite authors to compete for the eighth and ninth Fenia and Yaakov Leviant Memorial Prize. The prize, established in 2000 by the family of Fenia and Yaakov Leviant, is offered each even-numbered year and is awarded alternately to an outstanding translation or an outstanding scholarly work in the field of Yiddish.

Competition in 2016 for Scholarly Works Published from 2012 to 2015

In 2016, the prize will be awarded to an outstanding scholarly work in English in the field of Yiddish published between 2012 and 2015. Cultural studies, critical biographies, or edited works in the field of Yiddish folklore or linguistic studies are eligible to compete. The 2016 Leviant Memorial Prize, which consists of a cash award and a certificate, will be presented to the winning author at the association’s annual convention in January 2017.

Competition in 2018 for Translations Published from 2014 to 2017

In the 2018 competition, the prize will be awarded to an English translation of a Yiddish literary work published between 2014 and 2017. 

To enter a book into either competition, authors or publishers should send four copies and a letter identifying the work to the Leviant Memorial Prize, Modern Language Association, 85 Broad Street, suite 500, New York, NY 10004-2434. In the case of a born-digital publication, send the relevant media or URL and a letter identifying the work to awards@mla.org. Publishers may enter more than one title, but no book may be entered in more than one MLA competition. Entries may be sent at any time but must be received by 1 May 2016 for the 2016 competition and by 1 May 2018 for the 2018 competition. The winning author will be contacted in September, and a public announcement will be made in early December. Because of the volume of submissions, we regret that we are unable to contact each entrant individually.

For further information, call or write the MLA office of programs (646 576-5141; awards@mla.org).

Past winners of this prize