William Sanders Scarborough Prize Winners


  • Anthony Reed, Yale University, for Freedom Time: The Poetics and Politics of Black Experimental Writing (Johns Hopkins Univ. Press, 2014)

  • Honorable mention: Mary Helen Washington, University of Maryland, College Park, for The Other Blacklist: The African American Literary and Cultural Left of the 1950s (Columbia Univ. Press, 2014)


  • Samantha Pinto, Georgetown University, for Difficult Diasporas: The Transnational Feminist Aesthetic of the Black Atlantic (New York Univ. Press, 2013)

  • Honorable mention: Francesca T. Royster, DePaul University, for Sounding like a No-No: Queer Sounds and Eccentric Acts in the Post-Soul Era (Univ. of Michigan Press, 2013)


  • Erica R. Edwards, University of California, Riverside, for Charisma and the Fictions of Black Leadership (Univ. of Minnesota Press, 2012)

  • Honorable mention: Sara E. Johnson, University of California, San Diego, for The Fear of French Negroes: Transcolonial Collaboration in the Revolutionary Americas (Univ. of California Press, 2012)


  • Stephanie Leigh Batiste, University of California, Santa Barbara, for Darkening Mirrors: Imperial Representation in Depression-Era African American Performance (Duke Univ. Press, 2011)

  • Honorable mention: Meta DuEwa Jones, University of Texas, Austin, for The Muse Is Music: Jazz Poetry from the Harlem Renaissance to Spoken Word (Univ. of Illinois Press, 2011)


  • Lawrence P. Jackson, Emory University, for The Indignant Generation: A Narrative History of African American Writers and Critics, 1934–1960 (Princeton Univ. Press, 2010)


  • Monica L. Miller, Barnard College, for Slaves to Fashion: Black Dandyism and the Styling of Black Diasporic Identity (Duke Univ. Press, 2009)


  • Magdalena J. Zaborowska, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, for James Baldwin’s Turkish Decade: Erotics of Exile (Duke Univ. Press, 2008)

  • Honorable mention: Daphne Lamothe, Smith College, for Inventing the New Negro: Narrative, Culture, and Ethnography (Univ. of Pennsylvania Press, 2008)


  • Candice M. Jenkins, Hunter College, for Private Lives, Proper Relations: Regulating Black Intimacy (Univ. of Minnesota Press, 2007)


  • Jacqueline Goldsby, University of Chicago, for A Spectacular Secret: Lynching in American Life and Literature (Univ. of Chicago Press, 2006)


  • Alexander G. Weheliye, Northwestern University, for Phonographies: Grooves in Sonic Afro-Modernity (Duke Univ. Press, 2005)


  • Jean Fagan Yellin, Pace University, for Harriet Jacobs: A Life (Basic Civitas, 2004)


  • Joanna Brooks, University of Texas, Austin, for American Lazarus: Religion and the Rise of African-American and Native American Literatures (Oxford Univ. Press, 2003)

  • Honorable mention: Thadious M. Davis, University of Pennsylvania, for Games of Property: Law, Race, Gender, and Faulkner's Go Down Moses (Duke Univ. Press, 2003)

  • Honorable mention: Susan Gillman, University of California, Santa Cruz, for Blood Talk: American Race Melodrama and the Culture of the Occult (Univ. of Chicago Press, 2003)


  • Maurice O. Wallace, Duke University, for Constructing the Black Masculine: Identity and Ideality in African American Men’s Literature and Culture, 1775–1995 (Duke Univ. Press, 2002)


  • Eddie S. Glaude, Jr., Princeton University, for Exodus! Religion, Race, and Nation in Early-Nineteenth-Century Black America (Univ. of Chicago Press, 2000)