Aldo and Jeanne Scaglione Prize for Studies in Germanic Languages and Literatures Winners


  • Devin Fore, Princeton University, for Realism after Modernism: The Rehumanization of Art and Literature (MIT Press, 2012)


  • Yasemin Yildiz, University of Illinois, for Beyond the Mother Tongue: The Postmonolingual Condition (Fordham Univ. Press, 2011)

  • Honorable mention: Jane O. Newman, University of California, Irvine, for Benjamin’s Library: Modernity, Nation, and the Baroque (Cornell Univ. Press–Cornell Univ. Library, 2011)


  • Anton Kaes, University of California, Berkeley, for Shell Shock Cinema: Weimar Culture and the Wounds of War (Princeton Univ. Press, 2009)


  • Carol Poore, Brown University, for Disability in Twentieth-Century German Culture (Univ. of Michigan Press, 2007)


  • Johannes von Moltke, University of Michigan, for No Place Like Home: Locations of Heimat in German Cinema (Univ. of California Press, 2005)


  • John Zilcosky, University of Toronto, for Kafka's Travels: Exoticism, Colonialism, and the Traffic of Writing (Palgrave Press, 2003)

  • Honorable mention: Jonathan M. Hess, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, for Germans, Jews, and the Claims of Modernity (Yale Univ. Press, 2002)


  • William Collins Donahue, Rutgers University, New Brunswick, for The End of Modernism: Elias Canetti's Auto-da-Fé (Univ. of North Carolina Press, 2001)


  • Lutz Koepnick, Washington University, for Walter Benjamin and the Aesthetics of Power (Univ. of Nebraska Press, 1999)


  • Julia Hell, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, for Post-Fascist Fantasies: Psychoanalysis, History, and the Literature of East Germany (Duke Univ. Press, 1997)


  • James A. Schultz, University of California, Los Angeles, for The Knowledge of Childhood in the German Middle Ages, 1100–1350 (Univ. of Pennsylvania Press, 1995)


  • Leslie A. Adelson, Ohio State University, Columbus, for Making Bodies, Making History: Feminism and German Identity (Univ. of Nebraska Press, 1993)