Aldo and Jeanne Scaglione Prize for a Translation of a Scholarly Study of Literature Winners


  • Jane O. Newman, University of California, Irvine, for Time, History, and Literature: Selected Essays of Erich Auerbach (Princeton Univ. Press, 2014)

  • Michael Nylan, University of California, Berkeley, for Exemplary Figures / Fayan, by Yang Xiong (Univ. of Washington Press, 2013)


  • Pierre Joris, University at Albany, State University of New York, for The Meridian: Final Version—Drafts—Materials, by Paul Celan (Stanford Univ. Press, 2011)


  • Michael K. Bourdaghs, University of Chicago; Atsuko Ueda, Princeton University; and Joseph A. Murphy, University of Florida, translators, for Theory of Literature and Other Critical Writings, by Natsume Sōseki (Columbia Univ. Press, 2009)


  • Karen Green, Monash University; Constant J. Mews, Monash University; and Janice Pinder, Monash University, for their translation of The Book of Peace (Livre de paix), by Christine de Pizan (Penn State Univ. Press, 2008)


  • Shelley Frisch, Princeton, New Jersey, for Kafka: The Decisive Years (Kafka: Die Jahre der Entscheidungen), by Reiner Stach (Harcourt, 2005)


  • Margaret L. King, Brooklyn College, and Diana Robin, University of New Mexico, for Complete Writings: Letterbook, Dialogue on Adam and Eve, Orations, by Isotta Nogarola (Univ. of Chicago Press, 2004)

  • Steven Rendall, Les Barthes, France, for Lethe: The Art and Critique of Forgetting (Lethe: Kunst und Kritik des Vergessens), by Harald Weinrich (Cornell Univ. Press, 2004)


  • Charlotte Mandell, Red Hook, New York, for Faux Pas, by Maurice Blanchot (Stanford Univ. Press, 2001)

  • John R. Shepley, New York, New York, for The Forty-Nine Steps, by Roberto Calasso (Univ. of Minnesota Press, 2001)


  • Richard Beardsworth, American University of Paris, for The Confession of Augustine, by Jean-François Lyotard (Stanford Univ. Press, 2000)


  • Marie-Claude Hays, for A Child Is Being Killed: On Primary Narcissism and the Death Drive, by Serge Leclaire (Stanford Univ. Press, 1998)

  • Finalists: Channa Newman, Point Park College, and Claude Doubinsky, University of Tours, for Palimpsests: Literature in the Second Degree, by Gerard Genette (Univ. of Nebraska Press, 1998); Catherine Porter, State University of New York, Cortland, for Socrates: Fictions of a Philosopher, by Sarah Kofman (Cornell Univ. Press, 1998)


  • John Charles Chasteen, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, for The Lettered City, by Angel Rama (Duke Univ. Press, 1996) Richard Heinemann, Madison, Wisconsin, and Bruce Krajewski, Laurentian University, for Gadamer on Celan: "Who Am I and Who Are You?" and Other Essays, by Hans-Georg Gadamer (State Univ. of New York Press, 1996)


  • Joseph B. Solodow, Southern Connecticut State University, for Latin Literature: A History, by Gian Biagio Conte (Johns Hopkins Univ. Press, 1994)