Fenia and Yaakov Leviant Memorial Prize in Yiddish Studies Winners


  • Maurice Wolfthal, for his translation of My Four Years in Soviet Russia, by Yitzkhak Erlichson (Academic Studies Press, 2013)


  • Mikhail Krutikov, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, for From Kabbalah to Class Struggle: Expressionism, Marxism, and Yiddish Literature in the Life and Work of Meir Wiener (Stanford Univ. Press, 2011)


  • Maier Deshell, New York, and Margaret Birstein, Jerusalem, for Everyday Jews: Scenes from a Vanished Life by Yehoshue Perle (Yale Univ. Press, 2007)


  • Gabriella Safran, Stanford University, and Steven J. Zipperstein, Stanford University, for The Worlds of S. An-sky: A Russian Jewish Intellectual at the Turn of the Century (Stanford Univ. Press, 2006)

  • Honorable mention: Chana Mlotek, YIVO Institute for Jewish Research, and Mark Slobin, Wesleyan University, for Yiddish Folksongs from the Ruth Rubin Archive (Wayne State Univ. Press, 2007)


  • Amelia Glaser, University of California, San Diego, for Proletpen: America's Rebel Yiddish Poets (Univ. of Wisconsin Press, 2005)

  • Goldie Morgentaler, University of Lethbridge, for Survivors: Seven Short Stories by Chava Rosenfarb (Cormorant Books, 2004)


  • Dov-Ber Kerler, Indiana University, Bloomington, for The Origins of Modern Literary Yiddish (Oxford Univ. Press, 1999)


  • Joseph Sherman, University of Oxford, for Shadows on the Hudson: A Novel by Isaac Bashevis Singer (Farrar, 1998)