Lois Roth Award for a Translation of a Literary Work Winners


  • Maureen Freely, University of Warwick, and Alexander Dawe, Istanbul, Turkey, for The Time Regulation Institute, by Ahmet Hamdi Tanpınar (Penguin, 2014)

  • Honorable mention: Robert Chandler and Elizabeth Chandler, London, England, for The Captain’s Daughter, by Alexander Pushkin (New York Review Books, 2014)

  • Honorable mention: Aaron Poochigian, Columbia University, for Jason and the Argonauts, by Apollonius of Rhodes (Penguin, 2014)


  • Royall Tyler, Australian National University, for The Tale of the Heike (Viking, 2012)

  • Honorable mention: Robert Chandler and Elizabeth Chandler, London, England, for Happy Moscow, by Andrey Platonov (New York Review Books, 2012)

  • Honorable mention: Peter Cole, New Haven, Connecticut, for The Poetry of Kabbalah: Mystical Verse from the Jewish Tradition (Yale Univ. Press, 2012)

  • Honorable mention: Christina E. Kramer, University of Toronto, for Freud’s Sister, by Goce Smilevski (Penguin, 2012)

  • Honorable mention: Gordon M. Sayre, University of Oregon, for The Memoir of Lieutenant Dumont, 1715–1747: A Sojourner in the French Atlantic, by Jean-François-Benjamin Dumont de Montigny (Univ. of North Carolina Press for the Omohundro Inst. of Early American History and Culture, Williamsburg, Virginia, 2012)


  • John Woodsworth, University of Ottawa, and Arkadi Klioutchanski, University of Ottawa, for My Life, by Sofia Andreevna Tolstaya (Univ. of Ottawa Press, 2010)

  • Honorable mention: Jonathan Tittler, Rutgers University, Camden, for Changó, the Biggest Badass, by Manuel Zapata Olivella (Texas Tech Univ. Press, 2010)


  • Adnan Haydar, University of Arkansas, and Michael Beard, University of North Dakota, for Mihyar of Damascus: His Songs (Aghânî Mihyâr al-Dimashqî), by Adonis (Ali Ahmad Sa’id) (BOA Editions, 2008)

  • Honorable mention: Michael Berry, University of California, Santa Barbara, and Susan Chan Egan, Santa Barbara, California, for The Song of Everlasting Sorrow: A Novel of Shanghai by Wang Anyi (Columbia Univ. Press, 2008)


  • Edwin A. Cranston, Harvard University, for A Waka Anthology, Volume Two: Grasses of Remembrance (Stanford Univ. Press, 2006)


  • Joel Agee, Brooklyn, New York, for The End: Hamburg 1943 (Der Untergang: Hamburg 1943), by Hans Erich Nossack (Univ. of Chicago Press, 2004)


  • Geoffrey Brock, San Francisco, California, for Disaffections: Complete Poems 1930-1950, by Cesare Pavese (Copper Canyon, 2002)


  • John Felstiner, Stanford University, for his translation Selected Poems and Prose of Paul Celan (W. W. Norton, 2000)


  • Mark Harman, University of Pennsylvania, for The Castle, by Franz Kafka (Schocken Books, 1999)