MLA Prize for a Scholarly Edition Winners


  • Elizabeth Goldring, University of Warwick; Faith Eales, University of Warwick; Elizabeth Clarke, University of Warwick; and Jayne Elisabeth Archer, University of Bedfordshire, for John Nichols’s The Progresses and Public Processions of Queen Elizabeth I: A New Edition of the Early Modern Sources, 5 volumes (Oxford Univ. Press, 2014)


  • Thomas J. Heffernan, University of Tennessee, Knoxville, for The Passion of Perpetua and Felicity (Oxford Univ. Press, 2012)

  • Honorable mention: Reid Barbour, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, and David Norbrook, University of Oxford, editors, for Translation of Lucretius, volume 1 of The Works of Lucy Hutchinson (Oxford Univ. Press, 2012)


  • Janel Mueller, University of Chicago, and Joshua Scodel, University of Chicago, for Elizabeth I: Translations, 1544–1589 and Elizabeth I: Translations, 1592–1598 (Univ. of Chicago Press, 2009)


  • Gary Taylor, Florida State University, and John Lavagnino, King’s College London, editors, for Thomas Middleton: The Collected Works and its companion volume, Thomas Middleton and Early Modern Textual Culture (Oxford Univ. Press, 2007)

  • Honorable mention: Sally Bushell, Lancaster University, James A. Butler, La Salle University, and Michael C. Jaye, Rutgers University, editors, for The Excursion, by William Wordsworth (Cornell Univ. Press, 2007)


  • Roger Lonsdale, Oxford University, for The Lives of the Poets, by Samuel Johnson, 4 volumes (Oxford Univ. Press, 2006)

  • Honorable mention: Christopher S. Mackay, University of Alberta, for Malleus Maleficarum, 2 volumes (Cambridge Univ. Press, 2006)

  • Honorable mention: Daniel Paul O'Donnell, University of Lethbridge, for Cædmon's Hymn: A Multimedia Study, Archive, and Edition (D. S. Brewer in assn. with SEENET and the Medieval Academy, 2005)


  • John Miles Foley, University of Missouri, Columbia, for The Wedding of Mustajbey's Son Bećirbey as Performed by Halil Bajgorić (Federation of Finnish Learned Societies, 2004)

  • Honorable mention: Lynda Pratt, University of Nottingham; Tim Fulford, Nottingham Trent University; and Daniel John Sanjiv Roberts, Queens University Belfast, for Robert Southey: Poetical Works 1793–1810, volumes 1–5 (Pickering and Chatto, 2004)

  • Honorable mention: Donald H. Reiman, University of Delaware, and Neil Fraistat, University of Maryland, for The Complete Poetry of Percy Bysshe Shelley, volume 2 (Johns Hopkins Univ. Press, 2004)


  • Morris Eaves, University of Rochester; Robert N. Essick, University of California, Riverside; and Joseph Viscomi, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, for The William Blake Archive (

  • Honorable mention: Margaret Jane Kidnie, University of Western Ontario, for Philip Stubbes, The Anatomie of Abuses (Arizona Center for Medieval and Renaissance Studies, 2002)


  • Michael Rudick, University of Utah, for The Poems of Sir Walter Ralegh: A Historical Edition (Arizona Center for Medieval and Renaissance Studies in conjunction with the Renaissance English Text Soc., 1999)


  • Brenda Dunn-Lardeau, Université du Québec à Montréal, for La légende dorée, by Jacques de Voragine (Honoré Champion, 1997)

  • Honorable mention: Bruce Graver, Providence College, for Translations of Chaucer and Virgil, by William Wordsworth (Cornell Univ. Press, 1998)


  • Joseph Donohue, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, for Oscar Wilde's The Importance of Being Earnest: A Reconstructive Critical Edition of the Text of the First Production, St. James's Theatre, London, 1895 (Colin Smythe Limited, 1995)


  • Edgar M. Branch, Miami University, Oxford, and Harriet Elinor Smith, University of California, Berkeley, for Roughing It (The Works of Mark Twain, vol. 2), The Mark Twain Project (Univ. of California Press, 1993)