Enter a term to search the site
Search tips | Log in
Resources Job List publications bookstore style convention governance membership

MLA Bibliography Fellowships

In 2003, the Executive Council approved a request by the Advisory Committee on the MLA International Bibliography for the creation of MLA Bibliography fellowships. These fellowships recognize the efforts of scholars who index materials on behalf of the MLA International Bibliography.

2015 Fellowships

Fellowships are for a three-year period, beginning 1 July 2015 and ending 30 June 2018. The MLA seeks scholars of any level of seniority interested in training as field bibliography fellows and able to deliver at least one hundred citations each year. This opportunity is open to potential as well as existing field bibliographers. The MLA will provide materials and training meetings at the annual convention. Fellows attending training sessions will have their conference registration fees waived. On completion of the fellowship, they will receive a stipend of $500 and a certificate during the awards ceremony at the MLA convention. It is hoped that recipients of these fellowships will continue submitting citations throughout their careers.

Applications for the 2015 field bibliography fellowships are due by 1 April 2015.

The basic criteria for application are
  1. MLA membership
  2. Master's degree or PhD in a relevant field
  3. Access to scholarly material for indexing
Please submit a letter of request, including qualifications and reasons for applying for the fellowship, and a current résumé or CV. Materials may be sent to Helen Slavin, MLA International Bibliography, 26 Broadway, 3rd floor, New York, NY 10004-1789 (

We are pleased to announce the recipients of the 2014 awards who will serve as fellows from 2014 to 2017. Congratulations to the following:

Michael J. Dittman, instructor, Butler County Community College, PA
Joshua E. Finnell, humanities librarian, Denison University
Laura Fuderer, subject librarian, University of Notre Dame
Marla Harris, independent scholar
Michael F. Winter, humanities librarian, University of California, Davis

We are also pleased to announce the eighth MLA Bibliography fellowship award recipients, who have served for the three years 2011–14. The following scholars received a certificate of accomplishment and a check for $500 at the 2015 MLA Annual Convention during the MLA Awards Ceremony:

Lauren G. Coker, instructor, St. Louis University
Joe K. Fugate, professor of German, emeritus, Kalamazoo College
Isaac García-Guerrero, PhD student, University of Wisconsin, Madison
Chanita R. Goodblatt, associate professor, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev
Amber L. Workman, visiting assistant professor, Pepperdine University


© 2015 Modern Language Association. Last updated 01/28/2015.