Enter a term to search the site
Search tips | Log in
Resources Job List publications bookstore style convention governance membership

Aldo and Jeanne Scaglione Prize for French and Francophone Studies

2013 Valérie Loichot, Emory University, for The Tropics Bite Back: Culinary Coups in Caribbean Literature (Univ. of Minnesota Press, 2013)
2012 Christopher Braider, University of Colorado, Boulder, for The Matter of Mind: Reason and Experience in the Age of Descartes (Univ. of Toronto Press, 2012)
2011 Larry F. Norman, University of Chicago, for The Shock of the Ancient: Literature and History in Early Modern France (Univ. of Chicago Press, 2011)
Honorable mention: Louisa Mackenzie, University of Washington, Seattle, for The Poetry of Place: Lyric, Landscape, and Ideology in Renaissance France (Univ. of Toronto Press, 2011)
2010 John Culbert, University of British Columbia, for Paralyses: Literature, Travel, and Ethnography in French Modernity (Univ. of Nebraska Press, 2010)
2009 Maurice Samuels, Yale University, for Inventing the Israelite: Jewish Fiction in Nineteenth-Century France (Stanford Univ. Press, 2009)
2008 Willa Z. Silverman, Penn State University, University Park, for The New Bibliopolis: French Book Collectors and the Culture of Print, 1880–1914 (Univ. of Toronto Press, 2008)
Honorable mention: Dawn Fulton, Smith College, for Signs of Dissent: Maryse Condé and Postcolonial Criticism (Univ. of Virginia Press, 2008)
2007 Adelaide M. Russo, Louisiana State University, for Le peintre comme modèle du surréalisme à l'extrême contemporain (Presses Universitaires du Septentrion, 2007)
2006 Lawrence D. Kritzman, editor, Dartmouth College, for The Columbia History of Twentieth-Century French Thought (Columbia Univ. Press, 2006)
Honorable Mention: Sharon Kinoshita, University of California, Santa Cruz, for Medieval Boundaries: Rethinking Difference in Old French Literature (Univ. of Pennsylvania Press, 2006)
2005 Karen Sullivan, Bard College, for Truth and the Heretic: Crises of Knowledge in Medieval French Literature (Univ. of Chicago Press, 2005)
2004 Jeffrey N. Peters, University of Kentucky, for Mapping Discord: Allegorical Cartography in Early Modern French Writing (Univ. of Delaware Press, 2004)
Honorable mention: Jack I. Abecassis, Pomona College, for Albert Cohen: Dissonant Voices (Johns Hopkins Univ. Press, 2004)
2003 R. Howard Bloch, Yale University, for The Anonymous Marie de France (Univ. of Chicago Press, 2003)
 Honorable mention: Réda Bensmaïa, Brown University, for Experimental Nations; or, The Invention of the Maghreb (Princeton Univ. Press, 2003)
2002 Joan DeJean, University of Pennsylvania, for The Reinvention of Obscenity: Sex, Lies, and Tabloids in Early Modern France (Univ. of Chicago Press, 2002)
2001 Melanie C. Hawthorne, Texas A&M University, College Station, for Rachilde and French Women's Authorship: From Decadence to Modernism (Univ. of Nebraska Press, 2001)
  Honorable mention: Michèle Longino, Duke University, for Orientalism in French Classical Drama (Cambridge Univ. Press, 2001)
2000 Timothy Hampton, University of California, Berkeley, for Literature and Nation in the Sixteenth Century: Inventing Renaissance France (Cornell Univ. Press, 2000)
1999 Margaret Cohen, New York University, for The Sentimental Education of the Novel (Princeton Univ. Press, 1999)
Philip Watts, University of Pittsburgh, for Allegories of the Purge: How Literature Responded to the Postwar Trials of Writers and Intellectuals in France (Stanford Univ. Press, 1999)
1998 George Hoffmann, Boston University, for Montaigne's Career (Oxford Univ. Press, 1999)
1997 Suzanne Guerlac, Emory University, for Literary Polemics: Bataille, Sartre, Valéry, Breton (Stanford Univ. Press, 1997), and Kathryn A. Hoffmann, University of Hawaii, Manoa, for Society of Pleasures: Interdisciplinary Readings in Pleasure and Power during the Reign of Louis XIV (St. Martin's Press, 1997)
1996 Lynn A. Higgins, Dartmouth College, for New Novel, New Wave, New Politics: Fiction and the Representation of History in Postwar France (Univ. of Nebraska Press, 1996)
1995 Cynthia J. Brown, University of California, Santa Barbara, for Poets, Patrons, and Printers: Crisis of Authority in Late Medieval France (Cornell Univ. Press, 1995)
Helen Solterer, Duke University, for The Master and Minerva: Disputing Women in French Medieval Culture (Univ. of California Press, 1995)
1994 Janet L. Beizer, University of Virginia, for Ventriloquized Bodies: Narratives of Hysteria in Nineteenth-Century France (Cornell Univ. Press, 1994)
1993 Thomas M. Kavanagh, University of California, Berkeley, for Enlightenment and the Shadows of Chance (Johns Hopkins Univ. Press, 1993)
1992 Jody Enders, University of California, Santa Barbara, for Rhetoric and the Origins of Medieval Drama (Cornell Univ. Press, 1992)


Related Link


© 2015 Modern Language Association. Last updated 12/03/2014.