Enter a term to search the site
Search tips | Log in
Resources Job List publications bookstore style convention governance membership

Modern Language Association Prize for a First Book

Competition in 2015 for Books Published in 2014

Open Only to Members of the Association

The Committee on Honors and Awards of the Modern Language Association invites authors to compete for the twenty-second annual MLA Prize for a First Book, which will be awarded for an outstanding scholarly work published in 2014 as the first book-length publication by a current member of the association. To qualify for the prize, a book must be a literary or linguistic study, a critical edition of an important work, or a critical biography. Studies dealing with literary theory, media, cultural history, and interdisciplinary topics are eligible; books that are primarily translations will not be considered. The prize, which consists of a cash award and a certificate, will be presented to the winning author at the association's annual convention in January 2016.

To enter a book into the competition, authors or publishers should send six copies and confirmation of the author's membership in the MLA to the MLA Prize for a First Book, Modern Language Association, 26 Broadway, 3rd floor, New York, NY 10004-1789. In the case of a born-digital publication, send the relevant media or URL and a letter identifying the work to Publishers may enter more than one title, but no work may be entered in more than one MLA competition. Entries may be sent at any time but must be received by 1 April 2015. The winning author will be contacted in September, and a public announcement will be made in early December. Because of the volume of submissions, we regret that we are unable to contact each entrant individually.

For further information, call or write the MLA office of programs (646 576-5141;

Past winners of this prize


© 2015 Modern Language Association. Last updated 08/04/2014.