Enter a term to search the site
Search tips | Log in
Resources Job List publications bookstore style convention governance membership

Lois Roth Award

Competition in 2015 for Translations Published in 2014

Open to Members and Nonmembers of the Association

The Committee on Honors and Awards of the Modern Language Association invites translators and publishers to compete for the ninth Lois Roth Award for a translation of a literary work. Since 1999 the MLA has offered the award in odd-numbered years for an outstanding translation into English of a book-length literary work. For the competition held in 2015, translations published in 2014 are eligible. Translators need not be members of the association. The prize, which consists of a cash award and a certificate, will be presented to the winning translator(s) at the association's annual convention in January 2016.

To enter a translation into the competition, authors or publishers should send six copies along with brief biographical and professional data about translator, a total of 12–15 pages of the text in its original language taken from the beginning, middle, and end of the work, and a letter identifying the work, the translator, and the date of publication to the Lois Roth Award, Modern Language Association, 26 Broadway, 3rd floor, New York, NY 10004-1789. In the case of a born-digital publication, send the relevant media or URL and a letter identifying the work to Publishers may submit more than one title, but no book may compete for more than one MLA prize. Entries may be submitted at any time but must be received by 1 April 2015. The winning translator will be contacted in September, and a public announcement will be made in early December. Because of the volume of submissions, we regret that we are unable to contact each entrant individually.

For further information, call or write the MLA office of programs (646 576-5141;

Note: Since 1999, the MLA has offered two complementary awards: the Scaglione Prize for a Translation of a Literary Work, offered in even-numbered years for books published in the previous year; and the Lois Roth Award, offered in odd-numbered years for books published in the previous year. The first three competitions for the Aldo and Jeanne Scaglione Prize for a Translation of Literary Work were biennial; books published in either of the two years preceding the year of the award were eligible.

Past winners of this prize


© 2015 Modern Language Association. Last updated 08/04/2014.