Enter a term to search the site
Search tips | Log in
Resources Job List publications bookstore style convention governance membership

Modern Language Association Prize for a First Book

2013 Raúl Coronado, University of California, Berkeley, for A World Not to Come: A History of Latino Writing and Print Culture (Harvard Univ. Press, 2013)
2012 Meredith Martin, Princeton University, for The Rise and Fall of Meter: Poetry and English National Culture, 1860–1930 (Princeton Univ. Press, 2012)
2011 Nergis Ertürk, Penn State University, University Park, for Grammatology and Literary Modernity in Turkey (Oxford Univ. Press, 2011)
2010 Vivasvan Soni, Northwestern University, for Mourning Happiness: Narrative and the Politics of Modernity (Cornell Univ. Press, 2010)
2009 Andrew Piper, McGill University, for Dreaming in Books: The Making of the Bibliographic Imagination in the Romantic Age (Univ. of Chicago Press, 2009)
Honorable mention: Eric Slauter, University of Chicago, for The State as a Work of Art: The Cultural Origins of the Constitution (Univ. of Chicago Press, 2009)
2008 Matthew G. Kirschenbaum, University of Maryland, College Park, for Mechanisms: New Media and the Forensic Imagination (MIT Press, 2008)
2007 Dana Luciano, Georgetown University, for Arranging Grief: Sacred Time and the Body in Nineteenth-Century America (NYU Press, 2007)
  Honorable Mention: Matthew P. Brown, University of Iowa, for The Pilgrim and the Bee: Reading Rituals and Book Culture in Early New England (Univ. of Pennsylvania Press, 2007)
  Honorable Mention: Martin K. Foys, Hood College, for Virtually Anglo-Saxon: Old Media, New Media, and Early Medieval Studies in the Late Age of Print (Univ. Press of Florida, 2007)
2006 Sean X. Goudie, Vanderbilt University, for Creole America: The West Indies and the Formation of Literature and Culture in the New Republic (Univ. of Pennsylvania Press, 2006)
2005 Virginia Jackson, Tufts University, for Dickinson's Misery: A Theory of Lyric Reading (Princeton Univ. Press, 2005)
  Honorable Mention: Zhen Zhang, New York University, for An Amorous History of the Silver Screen: Shanghai Cinema, 1896–1937 (Univ. of Chicago Press, 2005)
2004 Elizabeth S. Goodstein, Emory University, for Experience without Qualities: Boredom and Modernity (Stanford Univ. Press, 2004)
2003 Paul K. Saint-Amour, Pomona College, for The Copywrights: Intellectual Property and the Literary Imagination (Cornell Univ. Press, 2003)
2002 Paul Downes, University of Toronto, for Democracy, Revolution, and Monarchism in Early American Literature (Cambridge Univ. Press, 2002)
  Priya Joshi, University of California, Berkeley, for In Another Country: Colonialism, Culture, and the English Novel in India (Columbia Univ. Press, 2002)
2001 Bruce W. Holsinger, University of Colorado, Boulder, for Music, Body, and Desire in Medieval Culture: Hildegard of Bingen to Chaucer (Stanford Univ. Press, 2001)
2000 Patricia Crain, University of Minnesota Twin Cities, for The Story of A: The Alphabetization of America from The New England Primer to The Scarlet Letter (Stanford Univ. Press, 2000)
Honorable mention: Jennifer Summit, Stanford University, for Lost Property: The Woman Writer and English Literary History, 1380–1589 (Univ. of Chicago Press, 2000)
1999 Srinivas Aravamudan, Duke University, for Tropicopolitans: Colonialism and Agency, 1688–1804 (Duke Univ. Press, 1999)
Honorable mention: Ian Baucom, Duke University, for Out of Place: Englishness, Empire, and the Locations of Identity (Princeton Univ. Press, 1999)
Honorable mention: Yopie Prins, University of Michigan, for Victorian Sappho (Princeton Univ. Press, 1999)
1998 Deidre Shauna Lynch, State University of New York, Buffalo, for The Economy of Character: Novels, Market Culture, and the Business of Inner Meaning (Univ. of Chicago Press, 1998)
1997 Katie Trumpener, University of Chicago, for Bardic Nationalism: The Romantic Novel and the British Empire (Princeton Univ. Press, 1997)
1996 Marc Redfield, Claremont Graduate University, for Phantom Formations: Aesthetic Ideology and the Bildungsroman (Cornell Univ. Press, 1996)
John Rogers, Yale University, for The Matter of Revolution: Science, Poetry, and Politics in the Age of Milton (Cornell Univ. Press, 1996)
1995 Elaine Hadley, University of Chicago, for Melodramatic Tactics: Theatricalized Dissent in the English Marketplace, 1800–1885 (Stanford Univ. Press, 1995)
1994 Steven Justice, University of California, Berkeley, for Writing and Rebellion: England in 1381 (Univ. of California Press, 1994)
1993 Eric W. Lott, University of Virginia, for Love and Theft: Blackface Minstrelsy and the American Working Class (Oxford Univ. Press, 1993)


Related Link


© 2015 Modern Language Association. Last updated 12/03/2014.