Enter a term to search the site
Search tips | Log in
Resources Job List publications bookstore style convention governance membership

Aldo and Jeanne Scaglione Prize for French and Francophone Studies

Competition in 2016 for Books Published in 2015

Open Only to Members of the Association

The Committee on Honors and Awards of the Modern Language Association invites authors to compete for the twenty-fourth annual Aldo and Jeanne Scaglione Prize for French and Francophone Studies, to be awarded for an outstanding scholarly work in the field of French or francophone linguistic or literary studies. For the competition in 2016, the committee solicits entries of books written by current members of the association and published in 2015. Works of literary history, literary criticism, philology, and literary theory are eligible for consideration; books that are primarily translations will not be considered. The Scaglione Prize for French and Francophone Studies, which consists of a cash award and a certificate, was established by the Aldo and Jeanne Scaglione Endowment Fund. It will be presented to the winning author at the association's annual convention in January 2017.

To enter a book into the competition, authors or publishers should send four copies and a letter identifying the work and confirming the author's membership in the MLA to the Scaglione Prize for French and Francophone Studies, Modern Language Association, 85 Broad Street, suite 500, New York, NY 10004-2434. In the case of a born-digital publication, send the relevant media or URL and a letter identifying the work to Publishers may enter more than one title. Books entered in this competition may also compete for the James Russell Lowell Prize or the MLA Prize for a First Book, provided they meet eligibility requirements. Entries may be sent at any time but must be received by 1 May 2016. The winning author will be contacted in September, and a public announcement will be made in early December. Because of the volume of submissions, we regret that we are unable to contact each entrant individually.

For further information, call or write the MLA office of programs (646 576-5141;

Past winners of this prize


© 2015 Modern Language Association. Last updated 08/31/2015.