Enter a term to search the site
Search tips | Log in
Resources Job List publications bookstore style convention governance membership

Mina P. Shaughnessy Prize

Competition in 2016 for Books Published in 2014 or 2015

Open to Members and Nonmembers of the Association

The Committee on Honors and Awards of the Modern Language Association invites authors to compete for the thirty-fourth Mina P. Shaughnessy Prize, to be presented for an outstanding scholarly book in the fields of language, culture, literacy, and literature that has a strong application to the teaching of English. The prize will be awarded for a book published in 2014 or 2015. Entries for this competition will be accepted until 1 May 2016. Authors of works competing for the prize need not be members of the association.

To enter publications into the competition, authors or publishers should send four copies and a letter identifying each work submitted to the Mina P. Shaughnessy Prize, Modern Language Association, 85 Broad Street, suite 500, New York, NY 10004-2434. In the case of a born-digital publication, send the relevant media or URL and a letter identifying the work to

The prize for a winning book will consist of a cash award and a certificate. The award will be presented to the winning author at the association's annual convention in January 2017. Publishers may enter more than one title. Books entered in this competition may also compete for the James Russell Lowell Prize or the MLA Prize for a First Book, provided they meet eligibility requirements. The winning author will be contacted in September, and a public announcement will be made in early December. Because of the volume of submissions, we regret that we are unable to contact each entrant individually.

For further information, call or write the MLA office of programs (646 576-5141;

Note: From 1980 to 2010, the Mina P. Shaughnessy Prize was offered annually. It is now a biennial prize, with competitions in even-numbered years.

Past winners of this prize


© 2015 Modern Language Association. Last updated 08/31/2015.