Enter a term to search the site
Search tips | Log in
Resources Job List publications bookstore style convention governance membership

Modern Language Association Prize for Independent Scholars

2012–13 Joël Des Rosiers, Montreal, for Métaspora: Essai sur les patries intimes (Triptyque, 2013)
2011 Melissa Bradshaw, Chicago, Illinois, for Amy Lowell, Diva Poet (Ashgate, 2011)
2010 Tom Duggett, Suzhou, China, for Gothic Romanticism: Architecture, Politics, and Literary Form (Palgrave Macmillan, 2010)
2009 Susan Whyman, Fair Haven, New Jersey, for The Pen and the People: English Letter Writers, 1660–1800 (Oxford Univ. Press, 2009)
2008 William Pallister, Oakland, California, for Between Worlds: The Rhetorical Universe of Paradise Lost (Univ. of Toronto Press, 2008)
2007 Andrés J. Nader, Berlin, Germany, for Traumatic Verses: On Poetry in German from the Concentration Camps, 1933–1945 (Camden House, 2007)
2006 Eric Edward Paras, Reston, Virginia, for Foucault 2.0: Beyond Power and Knowledge (Other Press, 2006)
2005 Henry Hitchings, London, England, for Defining the World: The Extraordinary Story of Dr. Johnson's Dictionary (Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2005)
2004 Alan Palmer, London, England, for Fictional Minds (Univ. of Nebraska Press, 2004)
June Chun Yip, Los Angeles, California, for Envisioning Taiwan: Fiction, Cinema, and the Nation in the Cultural Imaginary (Duke Univ. Press, 2004)
2003 Dana Phillips, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, for The Truth of Ecology: Nature, Culture, and Literature in America (Oxford Univ. Press, 2003)
2002 Diana Saco, Fort Lauderdale, Florida, for Cybering Democracy: Public Space and the Internet (Univ. of Minnesota Press, 2002)
2001 David Roessel, Washington, DC, for In Byron's Shadow: Modern Greece in the English and American Imagination (Oxford Univ. Press, 2001)
2000 Joe Snader, Wilmington, Delaware, for Caught between Worlds: British Captivity Narratives in Fact and Fiction (Univ. Press of Kentucky, 2000)
1999 Steven J. Holmes, Rosindale, Massachusetts, for The Young John Muir: An Environmental Biography (Univ. of Wisconsin Press, 1999)
1998 Janet Galligani Casey, for Dos Passos and the Ideology of the Feminine (Cambridge Univ. Press, 1998)
1997 Gary Schmidgall, New York, New York, for Walt Whitman: A Gay Life (Dutton Plume, 1997)
1996 Graham Robb, Oxford, England, for Unlocking Mallarmé (Yale Univ. Press. 1996)
Finalist: Carolyn Burke, Santa Cruz, California, for Becoming Modern: The Life of Mina Loy (Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 1996)
1995 Nora Sayre, for Previous Convictions: A Journey through the 1950s (Rutgers Univ. Press, 1995)
1994 Kenneth M. Cameron, for Africa on Film: Beyond Black and White (Continuum Books, 1994)
Honorable mention: Mary Price, for The Photograph: A Strange, Confined Place (Stanford Univ. Press, 1994)
1993 Olga Augustinos, for French Odysseys: Greece in French Travel Literature from the Renaissance to the Romantic Era (Johns Hopkins Univ. Press, 1993)
Honorable mention: Carl Hill, for The Soul of Wit: Joke Theory from Grimm to Freud (Univ. of Nebraska Press, 1993)
1992 Hans J. Rindisbacher, for The Smell of Books: A Cultural-Historical Study of Olfactory Perception in Literature (Univ. of Michigan Press, 1992)
1991 Marie-Laure Ryan, for Possible Worlds, Artificial Intelligence, and Narrative Theory (Indiana Univ. Press, 1991)
Honorable mention: David B. Morris, for The Culture of Pain (Univ. of California Press, 1991)
1990 William Merrill Decker, for The Literary Vocation of Henry Adams (Univ. of North Carolina Press, 1990)
Honorable mention: Charles Musser, for The Emergence of Cinema: The American Screen to 1907 (Charles Scribner's Sons, 1990)
1989 Emily W. Sunstein, for Mary Shelley: Romance and Reality (Little, Brown and Co., 1989)
1988 Harriet Blodgett, for Centuries of Female Days: Englishwomen's Private Diaries (Rutgers Univ. Press, 1988)
1987 Wayne F. Cooper, for Claude McKay: Rebel Sojourner in the Harlem Renaissance (Louisiana State Univ. Press, 1987)
Keith W. F. Stavely, for Puritan Legacies: Paradise Lost and the New England Tradition, 1630-1890 (Cornell Univ. Press, 1987)
1986 Paul van Caspel, for Bloomers on the Liffey: Eisegetical Readings of Joyce's Ulysses (Johns Hopkins Univ. Press, 1986)
1985 Edward Brunner, for Splendid Failure: Hart Crane and the Making of The Bridge (Univ. of Illinois Press, 1985)
1984 Gloria C. Erlich, for Family Themes and Hawthorne's Fiction: The Tenacious Web (Rutgers Univ. Press, 1984)
1983 Zdzislaw Najder, for Joseph Conrad: A Chronicle (Rutgers Univ. Press, 1983)


Related Link


© 2015 Modern Language Association. Last updated 12/03/2014.