Enter a term to search the site
Search tips | Log in
Resources Job List publications bookstore style convention governance membership

Fenia and Yaakov Leviant Memorial Prize in Yiddish Studies

2010–13 Maurice Wolfthal, for his translation of My Four Years in Soviet Russia, by Yitzkhak Erlichson (Academic Studies Press, 2013)
2008–11 Mikhail Krutikov, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, for From Kabbalah to Class Struggle: Expressionism, Marxism, and Yiddish Literature in the Life and Work of Meir Wiener (Stanford Univ. Press, 2011)
2006–09 Maier Deshell, New York, and Margaret Birstein, Jerusalem, for Everyday Jews: Scenes from a Vanished Life by Yehoshue Perle (Yale Univ. Press, 2007)
2004–07 Gabriella Safran, Stanford University, and Steven J. Zipperstein, Stanford University, for The Worlds of S. An-sky: A Russian Jewish Intellectual at the Turn of the Century (Stanford Univ. Press, 2006)
Honorable mention: Chana Mlotek, YIVO Institute for Jewish Research, and Mark Slobin, Wesleyan University, for Yiddish Folksongs from the Ruth Rubin Archive (Wayne State Univ. Press, 2007)
2002–05 Amelia Glaser, University of California, San Diego, for Proletpen: America's Rebel Yiddish Poets (Univ. of Wisconsin Press, 2005)
Goldie Morgentaler, University of Lethbridge, for Survivors: Seven Short Stories by Chava Rosenfarb (Cormorant Books, 2004)
1999–2003 Dov-Ber Kerler, Indiana University, Bloomington, for The Origins of Modern Literary Yiddish (Oxford Univ. Press, 1999)
1997–2001 Joseph Sherman, University of Oxford, for Shadows on the Hudson: A Novel by Isaac Bashevis Singer (Farrar, 1998)


Related Link


© 2015 Modern Language Association. Last updated 12/03/2014.